The Council of Education's


About the Alumni Association

The College has a registered alumni association since 2004, named as “Shahaji Law College Maji Vidhyarthi Association” bearing registration no- F/20119/Kolhapur.

It is a matter of great honour that the Alumni of Shahaji Law College, Kolhapur have gained name and fame in their respective fields. Our Alumni serves as members of the judiciary from subordinate courts to the High Court. They are making a mark as academicians, Law officers, Legal advisers, politicians so on and so forth.

The Alumni Association assists the institution in academic, administrative, financial and other support services.

Objectives of the Alumni Association:

  • To organize guest lectures of legal luminaries
  • To foster holistic growth & development of students
  • To provide various support services to the college and students
  • To raise fund for the college
  • To interact with other alumni members and to organize alumni meet
  • To commemorate important days like Independence Day, Republic Day, Constitution Day etc and to observe Birth and Death anniversary of the National personalities

Contribution of Alumni for Student Support & Progression

Our Alumni have supports Institution in the following ways –

  • Conducted Guest lectures on various legal concepts
  • Assisted students during Internal and outside Moot Court Competitions
  • Arranged and also guided students during Court and Chamber Visits
  • Assisted students for the placement
  • Provided feedback on curriculum enrichment
  • Raised funds and financially supported institution
  • Assisted institution to arrange various Events and programs.

Financial Contribution: 

The Alumni has made significant financial contribution to the institution as –

Sr. no

Academic Year



















Contribution in Academics:

           The Alumni plays an important role in the academic progress of the students.  They have been acted as a resource person for Guest lectures, Seminars, Workshops & also performs the role of judges for competitions. Alumni give us suggestions and feedback on employability of programme.

Participation in Management:

Alumni is holding position at management level and they are working as a Director of Council of Education (mother institute). Alumni representatives are also members of the College Development Committee and Internal quality Assurance Cell.

Alumni Meet 2022-23

Alumni Meet 2017-18


Late His Highness Chhatrapati Shahaji Maharaja of Kolhapur

Honorable Padmshri Deshbhakta Dr. Ratnappa Anna Kumbhar
The Member of the Drafting Committee of the Indian Constitution
Former Member of Legislative Assembly, Maharashtra
Former Minister of Maharashtra
Former Speaker of Legislative Assembly, Maharashtra
Founder Chairman, Shri. Panchganga Sahakari Sakhar Karkhana Ltd.
Founder President of Council of Education, Kolhapur

Late Honorable B. D. Jatti 
Former Vice-President of India

Padmshri. Shri. D. Y. Patil
Former Governor of Tripura State (November 2009 to March 2012)
Former Governor of Bihar (29 May 2012 to 26 November 2014)
Former Governor of West Bengal (Additional Charge)

Dr. Yashwant Thorat
Former Chairman, NABARD, India

Shri. Babasaheb Bhosale
Former Chief Minister of Maharashtra


Late Shri S. R. Kanthi
Former Chief Minister of Karnataka

Late Shri. Anandrao Chavan
Former Union Minister

Late Shri Balasaheb Desai
Former Home Minister of Maharashtra

Late Shri. Rajaram Bapu Patil
Former Minister of Maharashtra

Shri. L. H. Patil
Former Minister of Maharashtra

Smt. Shalinitai Patil
Former Minister of Maharashtra

Shri. Vilasrao Patil(Undalkar)
Former Minister of Maharashtra

Shri. Digvijay Khanvilkar
Former Health Minister of Maharashtra

Hon’ble Mr. Justice Tanajirao Nalawade
Acting High-Court Judge, Aurangabad

Hon’ble Mr. Justice Shrinivas Gauri Shankar Mutalik
Former  High-Court Judge, Bombay

Hon’ble Mr.Justice R. K. Joshi
Former High-Court Judge, Bombay

Hon’ble Mr.Justice M. S. Apte
Former High-Court Judge, Bombay

Hon’ble Mr.Justice Pradeep Ramchandra Borkar
Former High Court Judge, Bombay

Hon’ble Mr. Justice Anandrao V.Potdar
Former High Court Judge, Bombay

Hon’ble Mr.Justice Balasaheb Chavan
Former High Court Judge

Hon’ble Mr. Justice Anil Y. Sakhare
Former High Court Judge, Bombay

Hon’ble Mr. Justice Chandrakant Vithalrao Rane 
Former High Court Judge, Gujrat

Shri. L. D. Bile 
District Judge -3 and Assistant Sessions Judge, Kolhapur

Shri. Jayendra C. Jagdale
District  and Additional Sessions Judge, Special C. B. I. Judge, Mumbai

Smt. Sadhana m. Shinde( Patil )
District and Sessions Judge, Latur

Shri. S. N. Sardesai
District and Sessions Judge, Pune

Shri. D. S. Shinde
District and Sessions Judge, Aurangabad

Shri. A. N. Patil
District and Sessions Judge, Latur

Shri. A. K. Patil
District and Sessions Judge, Pune

Shri. N. B. Naik
Former District and Sessions Judge

Shri. T. R. Kulkarni
Former District and Sessions Judge

Shri. R. K. Ranade
Former District and Sessions Judge, Kolhapur

Shri. R. B. Naik
Former District and Sessions Judge,

Late K. R. Powar
Former District and Sessions Judge

Shri. Bharat Jagtap
Former Additional District and Sessions Judge, Pune

Shri. K. D. Patil
Former Additional Registrar, High Court, Goa

Mrs. Shashikala S. Patil ( Malkar )
President, District Consumer Forum, Amravati

Shri. Dinkarrao B. Patil
Former Collector of Kolhapur & Secretary, Govt. of Maharashtra

Late Shri. V.N. Patil
Eminent Lawyer, Western Maharashtra

Late P. B. Salokhe
M L C and Member Maharashtra Revenue Tribunal

Shri.H. G. Kulkarni
D. R. T. Member, Pune

Late D. S. Khandekar
M L A and eminent Lawyer Kolhapur

Shri. V. N. Patil
Eminent Lawyer & Member, Council of Education, Kolhapur

Shri. Barrister Balasaheb Khandekar
Founder member of Gokhale College, Kolhapur

Shri. Sarjerao Kadam
Member, Maharashtra State Industrial Tribunal

Shri. Umesh V. Kadam
Member, Red Cross Committee

Shri. Baba Kadam
Former Police Prosecutor & Eminent Marathi Novelist


18-10-2022 To 17-10-2027

Sr noNameDesignation
01Adv. (Dr.) Santosh A. ShahPresident
02Adv. Indrajit S. ChavanVice- president
03Adv. Shivprasad S. Vandure PatilSecretary
04Adv. Santosh M. ShelarJoint Secretary
05Adv. Prabodh M. PatilTreasurer
06Adv. Kundlik S. Gund PatilMember
07Adv. Wilson F. NathanMember
08Adv. Shilpa R. SutarMember
09Adv. Chetan S. ShindeMember
10Adv. Swapnil H. ChileMember
11Adv. Abhijeet S. ShitoleMember